1 ticket to Venice, Please!

Hello my lovely blog readers,

I hope all is well back in the states. There is not much to talk about our way…Aviano has quickly turned in to Shaw when it comes to Bobby working. Despite being on day shift (woohoo!) he had to work both days last weekend and has already been told they will be coming in again this Saturday and Sunday…so he has/will be working for 19 days straight. Therefore, our weekend plans have been thrown out the window (again). However, I was lucky enough this past Tuesday to visit a friend from College, who just happened to be on her Honeymoon in Italy! What are the odds?

My friend Athena was more than willing to jump an early morning train with me, and we headed to Venice for the day. Which by the way is actually referred to as Venezia here..(eh, learn something new everyday, huh?) I can surprisingly say, we didn’t get lost!! Once we got to the train station in Venice (and paid 1 euro just to use the bathroom!) we bought a ticket to take the water Taxi to Piazza San Marco (St Mark’s Square), where we saw oodles of vendors….(Im pretty sure every single one sold Carnivale masks too-I have never seen so many in my life!)…Doge’s Palace and St. Mark’s Basilica. Venice was PACKED for a Tuesday..I don’t even want to know what it is going to be like during prime tourist season on a weekend. I have to say, my most favorite part about Venice were the Gondolas. We didn’t ride one (I’m waiting on Bobby for that) but they are just so beautiful in the Canals. I wasn’t too bright, I took my small camera instead of my SLR so truthfully I am not too impressed with the pictures I took…I don’t think they capture the true beauty of Venice..next time I promise I’ll take the “good” camera.

Image

Below is a link to my Venice Pictures

http://s1342.photobucket.com/user/MrsTEAvery/slideshow/Venice

We had lunch at Hard Rock…real Italian huh?.. I have never been more excited to be given a bottle of ketchup and mustard! In Italy you typically get mayonnaise for your french fries, and if you are lucky enough to get ketchup it is typically only one or two packets. The whole experience at Hard Rock was very Americanized, next time I definitely want to eat somewhere on the Grand Canal.

Overall the day was a success…the sun was shining and the temperature was perfect. I cannot wait to go back with Bobby, so we can actually go in to some of the historical sites.

Random fact, in 2007 Venice was estimated to have 50,000 tourists A DAY. I believe it after the crowds we were in!

…We are coming up on a 3 day weekend. Fingers crossed that Bobby doesn’t have to work that one too… hopefully I’ll have a more exciting post next time!

Buona Notte (Yep, its bedtime here..enjoy your afternoon!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1 ticket to Venice, Please!

  1. Marsha says:

    OMG! These picturres are sooooo beautiful! I can’t wait to see it in person at almost exactly this same time next year!

Leave a Reply

