Birthday and Anniversary Celebrations Italian Style

Since my last post we’ve celebrated my 28th Birthday and our 2 year wedding anniversary here in Italy (Awwwwwe!) I would never have guessed that just 6 short months into our Italian journey I’d be blessed with such a great group of friends. We are all from very different places, we’ve all been brought up in such different ways, and yet we’ve managed to grow so close, so fast. Even though I miss my family and friends terribly, these girls (and their amazing husbands) have truly made our transition here so much easier than I would have imagined.

We celebrated my birthday by going out to dinner at an American 50’s style diner in Sacile. Who would have thought they’d have such a restaurant here in Northern Italy. They served American style burgers, ribs, and shakes…the list goes on…. the food was delicious and it was one of the few places here that didn’t break the bank at the end of your meal. The atmosphere was full of American vintage memorabilia, and “oldies” music. I felt like I needed to be in a poodle skirt.

After dinner we all gathered back up at my house for Sangria and cake. My friend Bree made me a “favorite things” cake. It was a layered  s’mores cake, complete with toasted marshmallows as the frosting. The decorations were made of fondant and were all created to depict my personality and favorite things. The front had my initials monogrammed…what southern girl doesn’t love monogrammed EVERYTHING! As well as an adorable (edible) banner across the top that said Buon Compleanno (Happy Birthday in Italian). Around the side of the cake there was a fondant North Carolina, with a heart where Raleigh is located, two dog tags, one with Baleigh and one with Presley, and an anchor to complete the cake! I managed to eat cake for a week straight before reluctantly throwing the left overs away. (Not before freezing a few slices for down the road cravings!) The last thing I need is a larger waistline for my 28th Birthday!

Image

The girls also surprised me with wonderful gifts including, jewelry, wine, perfume, and clothes… I could not have felt more loved!! After cake and presents all of us girls were dropped off at the Sacile square where we enjoyed an eventful night at Sfrsico cafe (a bar) surrounded by Italians who were celebrating the Sagra die Osei (Bird Festival). We managed to celebrate until 6am!! I’d say it was a wonderful first Italian Birthday!!

To see more pictures of my birthday celebration click here:

http://s1342.photobucket.com/user/MrsTEAvery/slideshow/28th%20Birthday%20in%20Italy

This past weekend Bobby was lucky enough to have 4 days off, just in time for our 2nd wedding Anniversary celebration. We decided to take a road trip with two of our closest friends here (Bree and Kory) to Cinque Terre, La Spezia and Porto Venere.

Cinque Terre consists of five towns, hence the name (Cinque in Italian is “5”…it literally translates to “Five Lands”) on the French Riviera. The five towns include Riomaggiore, Manarola, Corniglia, Vernazza and Monterosso. These are not towns you can easily access by car.  In fact, that is part of the “charm” of Cinque Terre; it lacks corporate development. Paths, trains and boats are what connects these five villages. We had to take the train and/or ferry into each of the towns. The ferry (although expensive) was most definitely worth it for the most breathtaking views of these pastel painted homes built on the side of the cliffs.

Image

We decided to stay in a town just a short train ride from Cinque Terre called La Spezia. It is one of the main Italian military and commercial harbors, and hosts the arsenal of the Italian Navy. Lucky for us most hotels accommodate dogs without question (or extra fees!) so Presley was able to go with us on this adventure. We spent 4 days and 3 nights trekking through the “Five Lands” and swimming in the Mediterranean.

On our last night we decided to hop on the ferry to Porto Venere. It is another town located on the Ligurian coast of Italy, with pastel colored homes and a castle on a cliff!

Our weekend was full of pasta, pastries, seafood and endless prosecco!

To see more pictures from our Anniversary celebration click here:

http://s1342.photobucket.com/user/MrsTEAvery/slideshow/Cinque%20Terre%20La%20Spezia%20Portovenere

Before I had the chance to post the above to my blog, our internet decided to not work for almost an entire week….when you live in another Country, that feels like an eternity!! Last night we attended our first Air Force Ball. Unlike most girls, I decided not to buy a new dress for this event. Instead I had the privilege of wearing the dress my mother wore on our wedding day. I don’t know what was more exciting, wearing her Vera Wang or the fact I could actually FIT in something of hers! The lighting was terrible for pictures but here is what I have :

http://s1342.photobucket.com/user/MrsTEAvery/slideshow/2013%20Air%20Force%20Ball

In just one week Alexis will be here for a 2 week vacation. I can’t believe how fast time has flown by, she booked this trip in April! We have plans to go to Croatia, Florence, Pisa, Venice..and many other places while she is here!! I CAN’T WAIT!

Until next time….. Ciao!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

