Getting back into the swing of (Italian) things…

Buonasera!

I know I am LONG overdo for an entry here on my blog. As most (or all) of you know I made a surprise visit stateside last month …talk about bittersweet. I’d be perfectly fine if I could just uproot my family (and by family I am talking parents, sibling, aunts, uncles, cousins, grandparents..the whole shebang!) to Italy for these next few years and live happily ever after in my perfect Italian bubble. Sounds fair, right? But since I can’t, I’ll just countdown until my next visit coughMARCHcough home. 

My trip was wonderful, although not long enough to truly spend the time I wanted with those that mean the most to me- and since it was a surprise, I wasn’t able to properly plan out my time. I did however manage to shop so much that I had to bring an extra suitcase back with me! I know what you are thinking, why shop there when I live in ITALY..the fashion capital of the world is just hours from my front door… well unless someone wants to write me a big fat check, or I win the lottery that I don’t play.. shopping sprees here aren’t going to happen!!

We have now been in Italy for 9 months and I have to say…time is flying by! We’ve managed to spend our first part of this tour sightseeing, traveling and embracing the culture. I’ve had more cappuccinos and pastries in the last 9 months, than I have in my entire 28 years of existence…now it’s Fall.. also known as the cold AND rainy season (winter too) so we are going to lay low these next couple of months (I’m sure our bank account will thank us). I don’t want to bore you with our day to day routines, so I probably won’t have as many posts during this time.

Since I’ve been back, we have pretty much spent our weekends at social gatherings, birthday dinners, blah blah blah. I have added a few new photos so you too can see our weekend shenanigans. I did experience my first Italian cooking class at San Giorgio’s recently, where we learned how to make Penne Fuego (a spicy pasta), Chicken with Cream Sauce, and Panna Cotta, which is an Italian dessert similar to a custard/gelatin that is typically served with a raspberry, caramel, or chocolate sauce. The language barrier was a bit frustrating at times, as the two main chefs did not seem to speak a lick of English!!…. but the endless wine served once we were able to sit down and eat our meal made it worthwhile! 

You can click here for the latest photos: 

http://s1342.photobucket.com/user/MrsTEAvery/slideshow/Italy%20November%202013?sort=3

Aside from that not much is new… with the Holidays approaching I am curious to see how our days play out. This is my favorite time of the year..I love my time with my family. My mother makes the holidays so special from the way she decorates the house to the dozens of sweets we bake leading up to Christmas Day…! We do have plans to spend Thanksgiving with our wonderful friends (there will be about 20 of us getting together for lunch) and again there are plans in the making for Christmas, but it will not compare to the warmth I feel in my heart when I am home, surrounded by the most important people in my little world. I would be lying if I said I was truly looking forward to this years festivities… Bah Humbug right? While I am appreciative of the open arms and new friendships here, I am the epitome of the saying,  “Home is where your Mom is.” 

Ok, Ok, enough of me being a debbie downer… on a completely unrelated note- here is a fun and ON POINT article about Italy/Italians!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/11/11/american-in-italy_n_4235479.html

 Ciao Ciao! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

