All of the colors of the rainbow…and then some!

Man, I am getting really bad with these blog updates. Readers, don’t loose hope with me just yet- in my defense I did spend roughly 3 weeks in the States last month and with Bobby being gone (yep, this time Poland), I haven’t been venturing out as much. It’s finally beginning to warm up here in Northern Italy and I dare say, the rain hasn’t come around nearly as much as this time last year. The vineyards are starting to bloom and poppy fields are “popping” up all over the place. I even bought a hammock for the yard… Presley seems to love it as much as I do! 

I’ve been keeping myself busy during Bobby’s absence by re-vamping the house. It has only taken me a year to fill our flower boxes on the balcony! I also got crafty this weekend (Pinterest is the best website ever created) by changing up our coffee table- it is now stained on the top and painted a distressed red on the bottom. I even found time to give our guest bedroom a little face lift…just in time for Bobby’s Mother and Aunt to visit! I created a floating headboard by staining cut 2×6’s and attaching them to the wall, I painted lettering for a center piece above the new headboard and even attached shelves to the corner wall as a make shift side table. 

Here is the before and after, what do you think?

ImageImage

As most of you know Bobby was sent on an unplanned TDY while I was stateside. We are hoping for his return home within the next month. 2014 has started off with him being gone more than he has been home, and the next few months are looking to continue this fad. 

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to visit two islands in the Venetian Lagoon: Murano and Burano. I am beyond thankful that I took this trip before attempting to travel with family in tow. It is roughly an hour Vaporetto (Water Taxi) ride back to Venice from Burano. Easy enough, right? Not so much, I can’t even begin to describe how hectic these Vaporettos can be. They cram as many people as possible in a confined space, I am talking shoulder to shoulder, front to back…For those of you who are tall, be thankful, short folks like me get a beating in these situations. With the 24 hour operation and 19 different Taxi lines, these guys are on a tight come and go schedule. You must be quick to get on, and pray you are not last in the bunch because when the driver is ready, the boat will pull off from the Water Bus Station (similar to a dock) without pausing. I have seen these Vaporettos begin to pull away while people are in mid step getting on and off the boat. 

We began our day in Murano. Murano is actually a series of islands that are linked by bridges in the Venetian Lagoon. These particular islands are known for glass blowing. As soon as you step off of the Water Taxi you become overwhelmed with endless storefronts full of chandeliers, beads, drink ware, the list goes on, all of which are glass that has been blown right there in these large warehouses. If you are looking for a unique (and fragile) piece, Murano is your go-to place. I felt the atmosphere was much like Venice, with a few colorful buildings here and there. However, if you are looking for bright, Burano is the spot. I’ll admit, I was reluctant to even travel to Burano, as it is known for its lacework, which really isn’t my cup of tea…boy was I wrong. I could have roamed these bright colored water channels all day. There was store after store full of lace dresses, lace handkerchiefs, doilies, table runners, I can’t even name it all. We had lunch in an adorable Trattoria called Al Raspo de Ua, where I had some of the most amazing broiled Sea Bass. While over the years both of these islands have become tourist attractions, there is not a lot to see or do in comparison to other places. Personally, the view makes the trip worthwhile. Hands down, it has been one of my favorite places for pictures. 

Image

To see more pictures from my trip to Murano and Burano click here:

http://s1342.photobucket.com/user/MrsTEAvery/slideshow/Murano%20and%20Burano

In order to get to and from the train station you have to get on and off of these taxis in Venice- I seized the opportunity to get in a few more pictures. 

Click here for more Venice pictures:

http://s1342.photobucket.com/user/MrsTEAvery/slideshow/Overflow%20of%20Venice

Until next time..Ciao! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

